Changed? by Dana Burkey — A Review

changedChanged? by Dana Burkey

RaeleighReads rating: 3.5 out of 5 coffee cups

“Removing her eyes from the flowers Summer looked up as Nick leaned closer. His hand on her waist wrapped around her while Nick reached his other hand up to brush a hair off her face. Looking deep into his eyes Summer could still see the snow swirling down around them. However, the snow faded into the background as Nick’s lips finally met hers.”

I received a copy of this novella in exchange for an honest review.

Changed? is the second novella in the Hearts to Follow series. Here, we pick back up with Nick’s story from the first novella (Just Pretending) and then meet a new cast of characters from Nick’s hometown. The female lead in this story is Summer. She is a smart, down-to-earth, no-nonsense kind of character with a soft side, and I really admired her ability to stay true to herself throughout the story.

Once again, Burkey presents us with a very believable high school world. The dialogue is spot on, and I found myself throughout the novel wondering two things. First, does the author have some sort of special viewing lens through which she can see my high school days because I feel like you could substitute a few names in this novel and I would be reading a script from my own high school years? And second, I wondered if this might work better as a script for a play? Perhaps a series of one-act plays. The first two novellas present themselves as little vignettes, scenes, if you will, in a larger drama, and I’m curious to see how the third novella in the series will play out.

For some reason, I had a harder time getting into Changed? than I did Just Pretending. I think perhaps some of the language flowed better in the first novella. The story is there in Changed?, I just had a hard time getting through a few of the sentences in this one. The second half reads much more cleanly and the ending is quite lovely.

I would recommend this book to teenagers. I think it is a very identifiable, age-appropriate story for people in high school. You will likely find yourselves grinning and giggling from time to time.

cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3

