Coffee Shop Hop — Sunday Review Series #5

Having recently moved back to Fayetteville, I had no idea where to get the best cup β€˜o joe. I had in my mind a quaint and quirky joint with just the right amount of espresso flavored air, indie art, and cushy chairs to sit in while enjoying a cup of coffee and some local flair. For me, where I consume my coffee goes hand-in-hand with where I do my reading and writing. And so, my hunt ensued.

My fifth stop?

The Depot

RaeleighReads rating: 2 out of 5 coffee cups

The Depot seemed like it would be an interesting place. It’s located off of Dickson Street, in the heart of Funky Fayetteville. I always see people going in and out on weekday mornings when I’m on my way to work. I was delighted to see that their menu contained both coffee, alcohol, and a collection of tonics and teas.

IMG_0151

Initial impressions:

  • This is the most expensive place I’ve been yet, and tax is added to the price rather than included.
    • 16oz iced mocha is around $5
    • 16oz frappuccino is around $6
  • You have to pay for parking here — all the time. Some places on Dickson you can park for free before 2pm, but not at The Depot 😦
  • Customer service if you’re only getting coffee and not sitting down to have a meal is subpar.
    • The man that took my order was nice enough, but after that good luck getting your drink! I had to go back up to the register and ask for it, and the person that delivered my friend’s drink didn’t even know what she had ordered in the first place.
    • I guess communication is not very high up on their priorities list.
  • The space is adorable. The work of local artists is displayed along the walls; the tables, chairs, and overall display are lovely; and there are two outdoor seating areas that are very nice.

IMG_0152

  • Apparently the coffee-shop-that-is-really-a-restaurant is a common theme around Dickson Street. First Common Grounds and now The Depot.
  • There are a couple of outlets to plug a laptop into, and I did see one other writer toiling away while I was there, but this doesn’t feel like a spot I will use for writing.
  • My coffee was just okay. A little watery, not a whole lot of flavor.
  • My friend’s coffee was delicious! She ordered the Arsagaccino (basically a caramel frappuccino), and it was perfect!
  • My final complaint? It was really loud! My friend and I could hardly hear each other. I have no idea how my fellow writer managed to get anything done in here.

Verdict: I will not be coming here again. Subpar service and coffee, loud space, paid parking? No thanks.

cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3

