Days of Throbbing Gristle by Kevin Cole — A Review

dotgDays of Throbbing Gristle by Kevin Cole

RaeleighReads rating: 4 out of 5 coffee cups

“This is not a story for adults.”

I received a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

Fantastic! but oh. SO. Long! I really enjoyed the first-person point of view this was written from, and the “thanks for reading my spiral notebook” gimmick was really great. However, that said, this book has ninety-three chapters! That’s a lot even by my Dickens-loving standards.

Days of Throbbing Gristle follows the story of Sam, an English boy who lives with a Texas family for the remainder of his high school days. Sam is charming and manipulative, and a bit of a prat, but we sort of root for him through the whole book anyway. I refuse to give anymore plot outline because this book goes to some really interesting places that I think people should discover for themselves.

Sometimes I felt a little bit of Perks of Being a Wallflower popping into the atmosphere of this story, but mostly Cole keeps the pop culture 80s references fresh, and the Texas descriptions were spot on. (I used to live there so I feel justified making that assertion.)

I really enjoyed this one, and I’m not sure I would take anything away from it to make it shorter. Just realize if you take it on that you’ll need to carve out a serious chunk of time to complete it — totally worth it!

Other opinions you might be interested in:

This book is epic, it feels like I have read a whole lifetime. I have deliberately taken my time reading this and it really helps you to get a grip on time passing and how Sam changes from the little Dick he was in the beginning to a less annoying Dick at the end of the book.“– Jason on Goodreads

Right. So this makes for quite the twisty, twirly ride of the absolute head scrambling variety; delighting in randomness and unpredictability. Excellent stuff.”– jedge on Amazon

cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3

