Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas — A Review

throneofglassThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

RaeleighReads rating: 4 out of 5 coffee cups

“”I like music,” she said slowly, “because when I hear it, I…I lose myself within myself, if that makes any sense. I become empty and full all at once, and I can feel the whole earth roiling around me. When I play, I’m not…for once, I’m not destroying, I’m creating.””

I really enjoyed this book even though it took me a while to get into it. The pacing was pretty slow at the beginning, but then the action picked up about three quarters of the way through and I couldn’t put the darn thing down!

The main character in Throne of Glass, Celaena Sardothien, is stellar! She’s a badass female assassin with her humanity intact. Oh, and she plays the piano. So, you know, she’s pretty amazing (I also play the piano in case that was unclear)! I definitely felt an affinity for her from the start even though I haven’t had any of her experiences — being trained as an assassin from an early age is unimaginable to me, but somehow this character holds on to her sense of self. As another character marvels in the book, she’s still able to laugh genuinely after all she’s been through.

Maas employs subtle, yet effective world building. She doesn’t rely on lengthy passages of description, but allows the world to slowly reveal itself to you throughout by means of the characters themselves. Her writing is effortless. So much so that you don’t really notice it. It flows so well that the story just blooms in your mind. At times I almost felt like I was watching a movie in my head, not reading. That was really nice.

My only quibble with Maas is that there is a slight love triangle. It didn’t bother me like some other YA love triangles, but its presence was irksome nonetheless. Even with that tiny hiccup, I immediately went out and bought the next book in the series. Can’t wait to start it!

Some other opinions you might be interested in:

This book was sooooo goood! The main female character is amazing, SHE WAS PRACTICAL. Not to mention completely badass, and could kill anyone with a hairpin if she wanted to.“– Regan on Goodreads

I’m not saying this book is by any means on Twilight’s level of awfulness, but it is one of the shallowest, least impressive fantasies I’ve ever read.“– Mitch on Goodreads

cup-of-coffee3

cup-of-coffee3

cup-of-coffee3

cup-of-coffee3

