Ready Player One by Ernest Cline — A Review

ready player oneReady Player One by Ernest Cline

RaeleighReads rating: 5 out of 5 coffee cups

“Being human totally sucks most of the time. Videogames are the only thing that make life bearable.”

This speaks to me on a cellular level. And I am officially in love with Ernest Cline’s brain!

It has ALL THE THINGS! You know those times when you’re listening to someone or reading something, and there are all these pop culture references, and you just GET them? That was this book for me. Certainly there were references I did not get, but nothing a swift Google search couldn’t remedy.

Ready Player One follows Wade Watts, a.k.a. Parzival, on an epic quest of the video game variety. Parzival must find “the egg”, hidden in the virtual reality known as the Oasis, before the Sixers do, or basically all of humanity will suffer. No big deal. Ha!

I’ve read a couple of reviews that say this book has no plot. To which I reply, were we reading the same freaking novel!?!? Sure this thing is chock-full of references, and perhaps if you don’t like that sort of thing it might seem tiresome, but there is most definitely a plot. It’s the type of plot made famous by the likes of Tolkien and Jordan…the quest. What makes this so amazing, is that it’s set in a future time with lots of 80s throwbacks. It is incredibly relatable. Maybe it’s only relatable for kids who grew up in the 80s and are super into sci-fi and video games, but for that niche (and it’s a pretty big niche), it’s a familiar and obvious world. Like, how has this not already been done, and thank you so much for finally realizing it, Mr. Cline!

Sorry this post is gushy and rambling. This book set my mind on fire. LOVE.

Now, somebody go get me a copy of Armada, STAT!

Some other opinions you might be interested in:

I can’t say enough good things about this book! It reminded me of every great adventure quest book/movie I know.“– The Lit Bitch on Goodreads

For me this book had a really interesting concept that just fell flat in its delivery.“– Aja: The Narcoleptic Ninja on Goodreads

cup-of-coffee3

cup-of-coffee3

cup-of-coffee3

cup-of-coffee3

cup-of-coffee3

