Yes Please by Amy Poehler — A Review

yes pleaseYes Please by Amy Poehler

RaeleighReads rating: cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3cup-of-coffee3

“You do it because the doing of it is the thing. The doing is the thing. The talking and worrying and thinking is not the thing.”

Amy Poehler is hilarious, obviously, but I already knew that from watching her in sketches on SNL and in her roles in Baby Mama, Wet Hot American Summer, Mean Girls, Parks & Recreation, and Sisters (I know, I watch alotta Amy Poehler — deal with it).

What this book taught me about Amy, is that she has a spectacular way with words (seriously this woman’s vocabulary is massive and her sentence structure is always new and interesting); she has a huge and sensitive heart; an incredible work ethic; some pretty fantastic ideas about recreational drug use; and she seems like she would be an AMAZING bestie. Please let her know I’m available if she’s ever in the market. You know, should she and Tina ever have a falling out. It’s more likely that the world would end abruptly, but, just in case, I thought I’d put that out there.

Now, I did listen to the audiobook, and I feel like that was the absolute best choice because her words were delivered in her unmistakable voice. I laughed, I cried, I laugh-cried. I got a lot of strange looks because I listened to this in public, but I did not care.

“It takes years as a woman to unlearn what you have been taught to be sorry for. It takes years to find your voice and seize your real estate.”

If you love comedy, improv, acting, or show biz AT ALL, you should devour this. If you’re thinking, oh, comedy’s not really my thing…you should devour this. It’s honest and sensitive and yes, funny, but it is also very intimate. While she did not share super personal, nitty-gritty details of her divorce, she did open up a huge window into how her mind works, her struggles with sleep and anxiety, and her overwhelming, and in fact, all-consuming love for her children.

“I swear, if I could eat my children, I would. I’d consume them like some beast in a Hieronymus Bosch painting, but in a friendlier, more mom-like way. Their little bodies make me salivate. It takes everything I have not to swallow them whole.”

What a woman!

P.S. Amy, Yes! Please read ALL THE THINGS!!!

ThankyouThankyouThankyou πŸ˜‰

