Real Neat Blog Award

Have I said in a few hours how floored I am by the amazing book blogging community? Well, I am dammit. Floored. Absolutely floored.

you like me

 

I was nominated by real-neat-blog-awardgarabrandtreviews for the Real Neat Blog Award. Thanks so much for the nomination, Amber. I think your blog is real neat too lady! πŸ™‚

Here are the questions (delivered in your best Magnum P.I. voice):

1. What was your favorite book growing up?

OMG that’s super hard! Tie between the Laura Ingalls Wilder books and The Chronicles of Narnia, both of which my Marmy read to me before bed (She’s a totes awesome lady BTW).

2. What book inspires you?

I’m going to come at this question a little differently than you might expect. A couple of years ago I read Deborah Harkness’ All Souls Trilogy. I’ve always been a fan of the occult, the supernatural (especially witches), and alternate histories. So, this trilogy ticked all of my boxes. What I did not expect to get from it, was a desire to write. But that’s exactly what it inspired me to do. When I concluded these books, I sat down with an old, green-leather notebook, and started writing my own historical fiction. It was absolute crap, but I haven’t put the pen down since. So, thanks for that Madame Harkness!

3. What book made you laugh?

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day. This book gave me a lot of feelings, and was delivered in Felicia’s trademark quirky slash hella-intelligent style. ❀

my emotions

4. What is your favorite book-to-screen adaptation?

Errrm, I will have to go with the Divergent series films. Shailene Woodley kills it as Tris!

5. Which book would you most like to see done as a movie?

Cinder (and the rest of the Lunar Chronicles series)! Cyborgs and Lunars and yes please! Look, I’ll even start the casting for you…

 

6. Which book do you feel you should have read in high school?

I read A LOT of heavy material in high school (plethora of Dickens, buncha Gabriel Garcia Marquez, biography of Catherine the Great — I was a masochist). So, I wish I had taken some time to read things that were lighter, funnier, and depicted characters my own age. The words “lighten up” meant nothing to me back then. Sigh.

7. Who is your favorite author?

Oh, Dickens. Hands down! Grabbed onto him around age 14 and have been collecting ever since.

Nominations:

Book Haunt

Kai @ Black Cat Kai

Laila @ Big Reading Life

 

4 thoughts on “Real Neat Blog Award

  1. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag. |

  2. Congratulations!!!

    From: raeleighreads To: michaelerick@sbcglobal.net Sent: Wednesday, April 20, 2016 6:28 AM Subject: [New post] Real Neat Blog Award #yiv8701554432 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8701554432 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8701554432 a.yiv8701554432primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8701554432 a.yiv8701554432primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8701554432 a.yiv8701554432primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8701554432 a.yiv8701554432primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8701554432 WordPress.com | raeleighreads posted: “Have I said in a few hours how floored I am by the amazing book blogging community? Well, I am dammit. Floored. Absolutely floored.Β I was nominated by garabrandtreviews for the Real Neat Blog Award. Thanks so much for the nomination, Amber. I t” | |

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.